Time Flies

“As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work.”
John 9:4

I am not young anymore. That is something that is weird and inevitable for me to think about.

I am still in my mid 20s so I’m not going to sit here and say it’s too late for me to accomplish my goals or something stupid like that. It is just that I am not a child anymore and I really haven’t been one for a while, but it has only really started to hit me recently.

I wrote my age down and was shocked at how high the number was. I knew objectively that I was growing and that I was in my 20s but seeing the 25 plainly written down scared me a little.

When I was 17, I said I would be married at 28, I said I would be planning the creation of my first business by 30. I believed that I would be done with my studies by now and that I would have completed one book (just one). I know that people shouldn’t judge themselves based on things they said when they were teenagers, but in 2 years’ time that would have been 10 years.

In 2 years’ time it would have been 10 years since I finished high school. In 2 years’ time I turn 27 and I still can’t believe it.

I have babysat and looked after children that are going to school right now, children that are walking, talking, reading and writing…that were born either after that time period or were newborn at that time. There is a 16 years old that I know that looks at me like an adult and expects adult wisdom from me.

Now that I think about it there are people in their late teens that I mentor and expect wisdom and experience from me.

In my mind high school was a few years ago not almost a decade ago, but here I stand realising how much time has passed since.

On a minor note, January feels like it was a few weeks ago, but it is now the middle of April. I have things that I want done by May that are only hallway done.

Am freaking out right now? Yes, yea I am. What will this help me do? Call my dad and figure out this adulting thing. Will I get better than what I am now? I am praying to the Lord God almighty that will be the case. All this little freakout is about is just saying that time flies really fast, scarily fast, so keep it in mind and don’t wait for tomorrow. Before you know it, it could be next week or next year even.

Previous post

Please leave a like on the post. If you like this check out my Index and Other works.

Published by The Lion's pen

aspiring author putting my words out into the world. I really hope you enjoy it, if you don't give me some criticism and i will take it into consideration (and please don't just say you suck and should give up writing or anything like that telll me what i suck at, and saying i suck a writing in general doesn't count.)

2 thoughts on “Time Flies

  1. Growing up and growing old are 2 different things. I am doing well on one, but not so much the other.

    I hope this made at least one person think. If it did just comment whatever it was you now feel or think.

    If you want to get in contact with me my contact details are linked below

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started