Moving Forward With Your Plans

Lion pen logo 2

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

Jeremiah 29:11

Making plans is easy…following through with them is an entirely different beast.

That is something that is so overwhelming to even think of doing.

When you get started on something it is easy to keep going and even start getting a routine going. The getting started part is the part that really causes issues.

I should know, I have (and still am) there. One thing that I think helps is opportunity cost theory. Every second you are not spending achieving your goals or working towards achieving them is a second you wasted and will not get back ever again. That tends to light a fire under me.

So, we need to be like children who have nothing holding them back from moving and move forward with what we want. You might be seen as naïve to believe you will get what you are after so blindly, but that doesn’t matter.

The thing is that wall that is preventing you from moving forward is purely mental. Everything you think will happen is always worse in your head than the actual experience will turn out to be.

I have been there, I have thought that rejections will hurt and completely shatter me, but they didn’t. They were like water going down my back…and sometimes there was no rejection, and I would have missed out on a great thing.

I saw a video is someone doing things that they were sure they would get rejected by or fail in only to be pleasantly surprised by the acceptance she received. That is the kind of mindset that everyone should have regarding their goals no matter how ridiculous it seems.

That made me a little surer of moving forward, but it didn’t move my feet because I went that can’t be me.

You can’t achieve anything if you are not willing to sacrifice to get it. Whether it be giving up some sleep to get a project done or fasting to get closer to God. One thing that you must sacrifice and get rid of is your insecurities and composure. If you hold on too much to that you might miss out on a lot of things.

The thing that matters is your goal, not your worries, not your insecurities, not your past reactions. The goal in front of you is all that should matter, and you should sacrifice whatever it takes (without dying, your life and physical and mental health is the most important thing in the world) to achieve it.

So run blindly forward with your plan leaving behind all your insecurities and you might be pleasantly surprised.

Previous post
Next post

Please leave a like on the post. If you like this check out my Index and Other works.

Published by The Lion's pen

aspiring author putting my words out into the world. I really hope you enjoy it, if you don't give me some criticism and i will take it into consideration (and please don't just say you suck and should give up writing or anything like that telll me what i suck at, and saying i suck a writing in general doesn't count.)

3 thoughts on “Moving Forward With Your Plans

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started