Addiction

Decorative first logo

This is a kind is kind of personal for me because I am an addict. Unfortunately, and I am not just addicted to one thing I am addicted to several things. Now everyone jumps on the comments and start shamming me these are the things I am addicted to: Procrastination , my phone, wi-fi, the internet (the source of my phone and wi-fi addiction), music and talking (especially ranting).

Seems silly right, no it’s not silly at all. With the internet I once spent R100, the local currency, in a week to have data, that’s when I knew I had a problem and I’m working on it. I have spent 2 hours looking for a free wi-fi hotspot, yeah that was bad. There was a time I had nothing to do on my phone, yet I still spent 2 hours that day staring at it, just because it was my phone (yeah I had a slight problem). I once had nothing to do the entire weekend, yet I only started my homework Sunday night. I blow through several earphones in a year because of overuse. and my siblings have been quick to point out that my mouth has no stop sign.

I know, I know it doesn’t sound that bad huh. Well think again, I am now a reclusive semi-anti-social shut-in who barely has time to pursue his passion because of backlog of work. Yeah, a bunch of harmless addiction have pretty much changed the way I interact with the world. I don’t complain because well, I actually made friends that unknowingly help me kick my addiction to everything but my phone (if anything they made that addiction worse) and school helped me with what is left(I spend most of my time in the library when not working and because of the stupid wi-fi actively conspiring to not connect to my phone, which makes it pretty much useless at school).

So, what I’m so terribly trying to say is that these addictions are like little foxes that come and snip at crops preventing them from growing. Like me I personally know to get me out of the house used to be a great obstacle but as time passed and things around me began to change I was given two choices and I personally like to think that I choose the right one by trying to give up my addictions.

Yeah trying, trust me I am nowhere near cured but, as with my anger I am trying. I now only stay on my phone for 12 hours instead of 15 (according to my phone anyways), that is improvement. And to all of you struggling with life damaging addictions you are trying to beat, I got nothing, this is my experience and it an uphill battle with the small stuff I can’t even begin to imagine what you go through.

Go to Rehab or church or get friends that somehow always find a way to disturb you before you get your fix.

You never know it might help.

Previous post
Next post

My post on over-coming addiction is here

For more of my works check out my Index and My other works.

Published by The Lion's pen

aspiring author putting my words out into the world. I really hope you enjoy it, if you don't give me some criticism and i will take it into consideration (and please don't just say you suck and should give up writing or anything like that telll me what i suck at, and saying i suck a writing in general doesn't count.)

106 thoughts on “Addiction

  1. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks
    fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started