The Man I Want To Be

“Listen to your father, who gave you life, and do not despise your mother when she is old.”
– Proverbs 23:22

The 16th of June 2024 is Father’s Day and I saw something that made me realise (or at least think about) just what my father went through.

I can’t even begin to imagine
what it felt to hold me
my fragile body in your hand
a whole new unique being.

Seeing one become three
and one turn to twenty-four
seeing the family grow older
but remain together evermore.

Seeing where you are now
from where you came from
from the small village to a town
to know how far you have come.

All you do just inspires me
even when we don’t agree
and yet you still come help me
Through this all I got to see

The man that I want to be.

Previous post
Next post

Please leave a like on the post. If you like this check out my Index and Other works.

Published by The Lion's pen

aspiring author putting my words out into the world. I really hope you enjoy it, if you don't give me some criticism and i will take it into consideration (and please don't just say you suck and should give up writing or anything like that telll me what i suck at, and saying i suck a writing in general doesn't count.)

3 thoughts on “The Man I Want To Be

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started